St. Clair Named Big Ten Men’s Coach of the Year


Nebraska track and field head coach Justin St. Clair was named the Big Ten Men’s Coach of the Year on Wednesday afternoon after a vote by the league’s coaches.

St. Clair led the Husker men to their second-consecutive outdoor conference title last weekend in Ann Arbor, Mich., closing the meet with 136 team points. By the conclusion of events, Nebraska was 50 points ahead of second place. The team victory gives the Husker men their first back-to-back outdoor conference team wins since the 2009 and 2010 seasons.

Tyus Wilson and Darius Luff brought home individual titles, while posting marks among the best in the NCAA. With a personal-best clearance of 7-6 (2.29m) in the high jump, Wilson is ranked first in the NCAA, 11th in the world and third on the all-time list. Luff evened his lifetime best to earn his third Big Ten title. The time of 13.25 in the 110m hurdles is second in the NCAA and sixth in the world right now. The senior from Lincoln, Neb. first ran that time at the Drake Relays, where he broke the school record. Overall, the men posted 11 top-three finishes throughout the meet.

This marks St. Clair’s second time earning the Big Ten Men’s Coach of the Year recognition after the outdoor conference meet in just his second season as head coach.

Additionally, Taya Skelton and Kolby Heinerikson received Nebraska’s Big Ten Sportsmanship Awards.