CSO Basketball All-Star Rosters Announced


Rosters are set for the 2019 CSO All-Star Basketball games to be played in May in Cambridge this year, with area schools well represented. The games will be played on Friday, May 24th at 6 and 8 PM, with the girls to start and boys to follow.

North Platte Saint Patrick’s had three girls chosen, Hayley Homan, Kaleigh Kummer and Calli Groseth along with Nick Niesen on the boy’s team. Hershey had two boys make the west team with Andrew Weitzel and Jacob Gosnell while Ashley Hassett joined the girl’s team. Also on the west boys from the area are Wallace’s Micah Swedberg, Sutherland’s Ryan Richardson and Paxton’s Jordan Callihan.

Joining Hassett, Kummer, Groseth and Homan on the west girl’s team were Sutherland’s Erica Hopping and Maywood-Hayes Center’s Jayden Widener and Paige Wood.

The coaches for the teams are Chase County’s Chris Bartels and Wallace’s Eric Miller for the west boys while Hershey’s Michael Jorgenson and Maywood-Hayes Center’s Kim Stengel for the west girls team. The full rosters for both east and west boys rosters are below.

The Cambridge School Organization (CSO) began organizing an All Star game for graduating seniors of Southwest Nebraska in 1985.  Over the past 34 years, the game has changed from a match up of Class C vs. Class D schools into a game in which teams are divided by geographical East vs West format.  The game has traditionally taken place the Friday before Memorial Day in Cambridge.  The game has featured the best senior players and coaches from the area during that time.

CSO All Star Game 2019 Rosters
West Boys East Boys
Micah Swedberg Wallace Braden Kizer Overton
Braden Space Chase County Matt Anderson Holdrege
Scott Wheeler Chase County Jackson Mckenzie Alma
Evan Allen-Mader Ogallala Aaron Dow Loomis
Andrew Weitzel Hershey Preston Carbaugh Cambridge
Jacob Gosnell Hershey Yordi Guerrez Arapahoe
Ryan Richardson Sutherland Tyler Callahan Bertrand
Nick Niesen NPSP Carson Schroeder Arapahoe
Spencer Ross Perkins County Blake Williams Southwest
Jordan Callihan Paxton Ajack Waikur Lexington
Coach Chris Bartels Chase County Coach Mike Bantam Alma
Coach Eric Miller Wallace Coach John Strand Arapahoe
West Girls East Girls
Emily Mann Brady Nicole Dewey Southwest
Calli Groseth NPSP Baylee Diefenbaugh Elwood
Ashley Hassett Hershey Allison Bauer Elm Creek
Hayley Homan NPSP Brenna Dugan Cozad
Erica Hopping Sutherland Lindsay Schultz Bertrand
Adalene Krutsinger DCS Grace Schwartz Bertrand
Kaleigh Kummer NPSP Mariah Watson Arapahoe
Jayden Widener Maywood-Hayes Center Joslyn North Arapahoe
Paige Wood Maywood-Hayes Center Tiffany Wells Alma
Kyleigh Scott Hitchcock County Dakota Hughes Alma
Coach Michael Jorgenson Hershey Coach Preston Blackmore Arapahoe
Coach Kim Stengel Maywood-Hayes Center Coach Shaun Kidder Bertrand